So, what’s this all about?

September 21, 2009 at 7:44 pm Leave a comment

Here goes nothing! In my life these days, there are two passions (not counting my lovely partner!): cooking and traveling.  Not all that unusual, I guess, but they’re mine.  But, there are also two caveats. 1:  I can’t use any dairy in my cooking since like a lot of people, it makes me feel icky. 2: I don’t get to travel everyday, since I have a day job.  So you’ll probably see a whole lot of dairy free cooking, and not as much travel.  That doesn’t mean that I won’t dream about travel on a semi-regular basis, though.

My cooking is mostly vegetarian, sometimes completely vegan.  I have a lot of respect for those who commit to being full veg, but I love eggs and fish, and they will pop up from time to time.  If I’m feeling especially adventurous, there might be a bit of meat thrown in.  It’s bad enough I limit dairy for my poor partner, so I’ve got to throw him a bone (so to speak) once in a while.   Most of the meals I make can be veg, and meat added in.  So if you’re a “flexitarian” these tend to work out well.

It’s been a totally frustrating, but ultimately rewarding, experience losing the ability to eat dairy in my 20s.  It’s like having to start all over again.  And you don’t realize how much of American food is practically soaked in dairy.  Sandwich bread?  Don’t assume you’re safe.  Packaged foods, especially crackers, were heart-breakers.  I loved crackers (and cheese), but there’s milk in almost all brands.  For goodness sake, there’s lactose as an ingredient in things.  How mean is that?  So, coming from a take-out night kind of house growing up to having to learn to cook from scratch with whole foods has been a true adventure.  I’m finally away from gripping onto recipes for dear life to make a good meal.

On the travel front, I’ve been luck enough to get to go along with my partner to Europe a couple of times in the last year, and we’re returning this winter.  Amsterdam and Prague will be like semi-second homes.  I’ve been to Texas (to visit my in-laws who are transplants down there), but never the West Coast of the United States.  My travel experience as a kid was pretty limited: Northern New England, Florida, and Toronto.  My honeymoon, which happened about two years into our marriage, was to Washington, D.C. for the Cherry Blossom Festival, and was wonderful.  So since I met my partner, I’ve done about three times as much travel as I did in the first 3/4 of my life!  I hope that we are lucky enough to keep this trend going.  Our specific destinations for this winter aren’t yet planned, but the planning of travel is definitely part of my plans for the Over section.

Hope to have a good time with this, and hope any readers might enjoy it too!

M.

Entry filed under: About.

Reading material

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meaghan

Archives

Flickr Photos


